Shimazaki Haruka’s salty response to “Who wants to be center?”

Mayuyu_Paruru

Translated an article from Tokyo Sports:

On May 5th, members of AKB48 participated in a live event held at Chiba by bayfm, named “Flea-ma Paradise“.

Watanabe Mayu(19), the super idol, and Shimazaki Haruka(19), who is enjoying rising popularity despite her “salty” personality, contrasted each other as one waved cheerfully to the audience while the other looked far into the distance from the event’s start till end.

MC Noro Kayo, talked about the upcoming elections and asked which of them wanted to be the center. All the members raised their hands, except for Shimazaki Haruka.

“I’m not aiming for it at all,” she said.

Noro Kayo, an OG who was Mayuyu’s senior in AKB48 before she graduated, commented that Mayuyu has grown up well. Noro has also submitted her candidacy for this year’s elections and hopes to rank in the future girls (49-64).

I really like this girl for being so straightforward. 

6 responses to “Shimazaki Haruka’s salty response to “Who wants to be center?”

  1. I’m sorry, it’s just my opinion though…
    Many people talk about how the “change of generation” thing and the “next generation ace”, and they describe it as Mayuyu (Team A), Paruru (Team B), and Jurina (Team K) —> AKB48 Documentary No Flower Without Rain. It’s understandable for Mayuyu and Jurina since in my opinion, they’re pretty, cute, talented, have passion, and they’re also already acknowledged by their seniors and fans. But why Paruru? Sorry, because I just got to know her for few months (since “Eien Pressure”) so I don’t know much about her. Also when in one of interview Tomochin said something like “Paruru resembles Acchan”, I got a bit offensed somehow (Acchan was my oshi in AKB). In my mind “how did this girl resemble Acchan?!” 😦

    And lately, when I read about AKB’s article/news, I assume that Paruru just makes up her personality to resemble Acchan. Like her hairstyle, her salty personality (Acchan is funnier, but Acchan too doesn’t talk a lot and shy), and now when I read this article T_T, when everyone wants to be the center and this girl said she doesn’t want to be the center O__O. I remember Acchan too has said something like this before!

    Okay, maybe I indeed dislike Paruru and tried to make excuses to dislike her (sorry)…
    But over all, I don’t think she suits to be the face of AKB 😦

    • Hello again! I don’t think i can summarise Paruru in my comment, but there are alot of articles here on Paruru so maybe u’d want to read? (Try the “Transformation of Shimazaki Haruka”)

      Basically she does lack the whole idol package – can’t speak well, clumsy, the worst being salty to fans. However, i do think she’s a breath of fresh air. Some members act cute, flirt, and go to great lengths to attract fans but i think they are fake. I always cringe when i see their tactics so i find value in Paruru who is not afraid to be herself. She’s gathered alot of fans despite her salty personality so i guess she’s an interesting candidate to push from the management’s perspective.
      Besides, she’s not without her strengths – she can act. I’ve watched her dramas and find her quite good. There was a drama competition between the AKB teams during So Long! promotions, and Team B’s drama actually won in ratings, no doubt due to Paruru’s perf as the female lead. At that point, i had the feeling that Paruru might become a formidable rival to Jurina/Mayuyu in future.

      As for the portion about her resembling Acchan, actually Tomochin was referring to how Paruru’s “my pace” character is similar to Acchan. Other than that, i think they are completely different, be it hairstyle or personality. I’m also sure Paruru wasn’t copying Acchan when she said she doesn’t want to be center. She had a traumatic experience from Eien Pressure, so she probably thinks she’s not ready yet. (You can google “Paruru breaks down” to see my article.)

      It’s okay to dislike Paruru, i mean we have different standards when judging people. I myself dislike Sasshi, but she still ended up being the new center. =(

      Skip this fortune cookie and go to the next single already!

      • Yeah,thanks for responsing back without getting offensed! I really apreciate it! 🙂
        Because lately, I just got disliked for posting ‘something related to AKB’. Umm, yes I have watched those three versions of So Long! Drama. It is actually quite good because I didn’t expect too much since Acchan has already graduated. Team B’s version is the most realistic I think, the story about the students and their teacher…it’s touching T__T I cried bro! I hope AKB can make more ‘drama version’ of their single in the future! Not just for their sakura songs and janken songs, their summer single maybe?

        For Paruru, yeah maybe I just don’t get used to see her in the front-line yet. It’s hard for me to accept change in generation (plus Acchan was my oshi T_T).

        Anyway, I heard JKT48 would release “Koisuru Fortune Cookie” at the same time as AKB (with their own ver of course).

        Yeah, hope their ‘cool’ song come faster! XO

      • Maybe you’ll open up to new faces as time passes. I disliked Jurina when she was chosen as UZA center, but now i find her charming and think of her as a worthy rival to Mayuyu. Your preferences may change like me too.

        Thanks for the headsup on JKT48! I find it interesting that they are going to release the same song..maybe AkiP is trying to make this song a global hit. I don’t know much about JKT48 but they must be doing well in Indonesia to deserve this. I mean..all along they only got to release the old singles right?

        By the way, there’s going to be a “Fortune Cookies” drama next Monday! It will feature Mayuyu, Yuko, Kojiharu, Shinoda, Yukirin and Paruru! I’ll post it when it is uploaded…

  2. Eh? O_O A “Fortune Cookies” drama without Sasshi? I meant she got 1st in election and had “Koisuru Fortune Cookie” as her winning song, but how could she’s not included in the drama? Oh my ;_; it’s Paruru again! Argh!!

Leave a Reply

