First perf of AKB48 32nd single “Koisuru Fortune Cookie”

30 Jun

So the first live performance of AKB48 32nd single “Koisuru Fortune Cookie” was revealed on Ongaku no Hi yesterday. This is the song which stars Sashihara Rino as the center after she won the AKB48 5th General Elections. To be frank, i was expecting something interesting since Oshima Yuko said she is curious about how comedic AKB48 will turn into. However, this song is quite the opposite. It is mainstream like Gingham Check – love song, bright and cheerful. However, the tune is rather retro and just plain boring. It doesn’t help that Sashihara is serving as center because she looks so awkward in that position. I give her credit for dancing harder and trying to look cute, but sometimes it’s the aura that makes a center. That said, Oshima Yuko is shining in the performance! Can anyone ever replace Oshima Yuko? I’m a Mayuyu fan but i think she’s not there yet.

 

 

 

 

Translated Lyrics:

I like you, but you’re not interested in me.
I’m prepared to fall out of love again…Yeah! Yeah! Yeah!
There are alot of cute girls around you.
You’ll never notice a plain flower like me…Yeah! Yeah! Yeah!

When i listen to the music playing in the cafeteria,
Unknowingly i start to move to the rhythm.
I can’t stop my feelings, come on come on come on baby!
Lets do some fortune telling!

I’m in love with fortune cookies.
The future is not so bad!
Hey Hey Hey…Hey Hey Hey…
My life isn’t over, miracles have yet to occur.
I have a feeling we will love each other someday.

Come on come on come on baby!
Lets do some fortune telling!

I’m in love with fortune cookies.
The future is not so bad!
Hey Hey Hey…(!@$@#$@???)
My dear fortune cookie,
Let me be lucky today.
Hey Hey Hey..Hey Hey Hey…
My life isn’t over, miracles have yet to occur.
I have a feeling we will love each other someday.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

Updating with the links to purchase:

3 Responses to “First perf of AKB48 32nd single “Koisuru Fortune Cookie””

  1. sania10786 June 30, 2013 at 10:51 pm #

    I can’t agree you more with this. Yeah, although Sasshi is the center in this song, I can’t feel anything outstanding from her. Yuko was so much better. As expected of Queen Yuko! Yuko just has so much expressions through her moves, facial, everything! In this performance, Yuko and Sae look really happy/energetic despite of song’s slow tempo choreography. I’m sorry, for Mayuyu…I don’t know, she is cute, she is pretty, she can dance but somehow something is missing. Aura? Or is it just me? Anyway, let’s just look forward to their next “Cool” song! Hope that will cover for their previous disappointing release~ 🙂

    • allthingsjpop July 1, 2013 at 3:30 am #

      Yes, Yuko has always stolen the limelight in various songs. Mayuyu on the other hand, only shows her aura when she’s the center. I guess she wants to give Sasshi some limelight this time. No matter what, i think the true center is someone who steals the show. In that respect, Sasshi seems to have failed, which is understandable cos her strengths are not in performing.

      Thanks for your comment anyway!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. AKB48 flaunts fruit fashion in new perf of “Koisuru Fortune Cookies” | allthingsjpop - July 6, 2013

    […] when I thought their wardrobe can’t get more colorful than this, these girls came back with something more outlandish and bizarre. What’s with the fruits in […]

Leave a Reply

