Full live perf of AKB48’s janken single “Suzukake Nanchara”

25 Nov

[I am so pissed with wordpress because i wrote a whole article about this and somehow it didn’t get saved when i was refreshing the page!]


AKB48’s 34th single “Suzukake no Ki no Michi de ‘Kimi no Hohoemi wo Yume ni Miru’ to Itteshimattara Bokutachi no Kankei wa Dou Kawatteshimaunoka, Bokunari ni Nannichi ka Kangaeta Ue deno Yaya Kihazukashii Ketsuron no youna Mono”, also known as the shortened “Suzukake Nanchara”, was performed live in AKB48’s own variety show yesterday.

The reason for this super long title is because Akimoto Yasushi couldn’t find the right words to describe his feelings written in this song. The title when translated says “An embarrassing conclusion kind of thing I came up with after several days of considering how our relationship would change if I tell you ‘I see your smile in my dreams.’ “. Unlike the previous jankan singles which is mostly written for the center, Akimoto Yasushi was imagining the senbatsu members as a whole, like “the glitter of the girls’ youth, or their mysteriousness, or maybe the earnestness of the girls running with full effort toward the dream as whole AKB group”.

Personally, i do find the lyrics pretty meaningful. The girls are actually singing from a guy’s perspective, describing his complicated feelings for a childhood friend,  whom he prefers to remain friends with until she realises his crush on her.

Pls see the lyrics translations after the video!

I see your smile in my dreams
It is always the same situation
In the sunlight streets lined with plane trees, you call my name(again and again)

I see your smile in my dreams
I want to know the reason why
When i wake up and open my eyes
Why do i feel a tinge of sadness in my heart?

[Chant: Chan chan chan chan chan….]

[Jurina solo] One day the convenience store around the corner disappeared
I realised i missed it because i forgot to turn the corner, oh my subconscious map
I’ve known you since i was young, you were like my sister
Suddenly you’re all grown up, stirring my heart (the important thing is not to run away from these feelings!)

The feelings i have, can’t be expressed in words
The distance between us is just right now
Just like the days when you laughed loudly, i want to protect you (Forever)

The feelings i have, can’t be expressed in words
I have to set my own rules
For your sake, i have to remain calm
It’s alright to let things continue as it is

As i step on the fallen leaves, i think of you again
When the wind blows them away, will my freedom be taken along too?
As i look at the sky, time passes slowly
The strings of fate are still very long (lets meet in the future)

Confessing my love for you is still too early, that’s what i told myself
Our love needn’t be hastened, the future is waiting(romance)

Confessing my love for you is still too early, it’s okay if we remain friends
I will wait until you realise my feelings for you
It’s alright to let things continue as it is

[Chant: Suki!Suki!Suki!Suki!…. Daisuki da!]

I see your smile in my dreams
It is always the same situation
In the sunlight streets lined with plane trees, you call my name(again and again)

I see your smile in my dreams
I want to know the reason why
When i wake up and open my eyes
Why do i feel a tinge of sadness in my heart?

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Purchase AKB48’s new single below!

Leave a Reply

