SKE48 talks about their ambitions for a solo debut, and reactions to internet bashing

An excerpt of a talk show between SKE48 members and comedians Black Mayonnaise, aired recently. The girls talk about their reception to bashing on the Internet and their hopes for a solo debut. Matsui Jurina once again declares her wish of becoming No.1 when she turns 18 next year.

Do you mind the bashing/negative comments on the Internet?
Shibata Aya:
I look at them, do a screenshot and think to myself ‘I will never forget you!’
Matsui Jurina: When i see the comments, i take their feelings into account. (Actually she was trying to do a pun here so it’s not funny if you don’t understand Japanese.)
Suda Akari: I always mind what they say..like “busu(ugly)” or “not cute”. There are also comments like “don’t film her” or “i’m going to vomit if you film her”. I think that if i don’t speak i’m just “busu” so i thought i’d be the conversational type of “busu”. At least i can leave an impression.
MC: Do you think you’re ugly?
Suda Akari: I don’t actually…because I placed 10th in the sousenkyo this year, so i can’t accept it.
Miyazawa Sae: I write a reply on my handphone but delete it before sending it. It’s like my feelings were sent out.
Oba Mina: SKE fans are very passionate and it was very hard for me to be accepted initially as i was from AKB. I was really angry because i also worked hard! There are times when things i say on TV would become controversial, and the fans would be like “she actually went to the extent of saying these?!”. During these times i’m actually relieved and hope they will accept me.

Do you want to have a solo debut?
Matsui Jurina:
I’d be happy if i get a solo debut. I also want to try, but not now. Right now i want to work hard in both 48groups and i hope SKE48 can surpass AKB48 eventually.
MC:
But you still don’t want to step up right?
Matsui Jurina:
I’m still under 18 years old, so i can’t appear on TV after 10pm. Realistically, i want to become No.1 in sousenkyo when i turn 18,and have more solo work.
MC:
So you’re really popular right now, but because work hours are short, it’s difficult for you to get more income? You also want the income after midnight?
Matsui Jurina:
That’s not true!
MC:
Sae chan?
Miyazawa Sae:
It’s impossible for me. If i become solo, that’ll be the time to graduate. I won’t sell even if i become solo! DEFINITELY! I can’t sing…

Well well….Jurina’s piling the pressure on her fans. I’m not sure if i want to see her win next year though. There are girls like Yukirin and Rena nearing the age to graduate and i’d like to see them get a solo center before that.

 

9 responses to “SKE48 talks about their ambitions for a solo debut, and reactions to internet bashing

  1. I’m a jurina oshi ! Dakara , i have to oppose you on your opinion of her not becoming a center next year although i totally understand where your coming from , i also really would like yuki-chan to become a center , but seriously turning 18 and becoming a center ! what more of a birthday present would she want other than global peace xD So yeah i wish she does get the center ^^
    And in the end , no hate for any akb48 member or one os its sister groups =*

  2. This may be off-point. Regarding online “bashers”. I’ve also encountered cold, anti-48 family sentiments online. Just today I exchanged comments who said that the AKB48 family was “sinister.”

    I like AKB/SKE/NMB48, so in their eyes, that makes me stupid … and a pervert. (When I find out what type of music/entertainment some of these haters give themselves to, I’m not surprised.)

    How anyone cannot see the sweetness in these ladies is disturbing. I like to watch AKB and other Jpop groups with my morning coffee. They make me happy… in a world that is too-often full of ugliness.

    • I’ve seen some 48 haters too but it’s not as bad as the hate/rivalry going on within the fandom. lol I can see where the pervert stereotype is coming from..these girls do sell some skin and sometimes looking at the comments from certain fans i think the same too.

      • Yes, the WITHIN fandom I can’t understand, and it saddens me. Someone likes Mayu and doesn’t like Yuki’s rank or vice versa.

        I’m, always thinking “BROTHERS, BROTHERS, let us not fight, we are in this together”.

        My Oshimen is Iwasa Misaki, so she is low ranked, and generally there is less jealousy of her.

        I will address the “pervert” allegations in a later blog, when I can find the right words : )

  3. I’d not like Jurina get the center next year (I still can’t get over her speech ),she is still young and has her little special please with management so has a long career ahead. If someone deserve this is Yuki ( or even better Takamina) but being realistic Yuki has more possibilities, though I think Sashihara is gonna be center next year, I am amazed how popular she has become she is like everywhere.

  4. I don’t want Jurina as number 1 next year. But I’ll prefer anyone for #1 as long as it’s not Mayuyu…which is ironic coming from me (I spent a good chunk of my votes on her this year) but she failed to meet my expectations. So either she steps up her game or she’ll get no votes from me next year (not that she needs them anyway). Sorry, Mayuyu!
    I’ll switch to Rena or Yuki. Paruru’s not a bad choice either. Realistically speaking, I think Sashihara will probably make a comeback if she decides to participate. The public chose her to center Flying Get and her recent book has done amazingly well,they’re even reprinting it.
    But election’s still so far away, a lot of things can change.

    • That her book is selling well doesn’t mean too much if you remember Kojiharu. Her photo book sold really well but she even had less votes than the year before. But I do agree Sashi is really popular, she really knows what to say to make people talk about her a lot.

    • I don’t think Mayuyu changed much to win this year’s elections, but after the elections i can see her showing alternate personalities in various music/varieties. She should have done this earlier but it’s good that she’s showing growth even after winning.

      As for Sasshi, as popular as she is, i don’t see any growth in her to deserve that 2nd win.

Leave a Reply

