Iwasa Misaki ponders over the value of her existence if she quits AKB48

28 Sep

This is specially for Denny Sinnoh, who seems to be a Iwasa fan.



AKB48 Team K’s Iwasa Misaki (19) recently posted on her blog, questioning the worth of her existence if she were to quit AKB48.

The post titled “Dreams” was uploaded on 24th September, where she talked about fans who came to meet her at a handshake event on the previous day. Apparently, fans had stopped her from graduating, saying “Wasamin can’t graduate! You’ll stay here forever right?”

In response to this, she wrote “There’s no such thing like not graduating! *laughs* There’s definitely no member who won’t graduate! If i weren’t part of AKB, you won’t support me? Is there no charm about me if I weren’t part of AKB?”

Reflecting further, she wrote “Once again, i realise that i have to work harder in order for fans to follow me even after i graduate.I’d be happy if everyone can support me and my dreams. ”

However, looking at the cases of graduated members, it is a fact that many are having it tough. Shinoda Mariko(28) and Itano Tomomi(23) for example, have ceased to be as active compared to when they were still in AKB. Will Iwasa Misaki be able to maintain the connection with her fans after graduation?

 

Source

6 Responses to “Iwasa Misaki ponders over the value of her existence if she quits AKB48”

  1. Denny Sinnoh September 28, 2014 at 1:52 am #

    — CRASH !! — That was the sound of me dropping everything when I saw this post. sAve file Save file Save file …

    • allthingsjpop September 28, 2014 at 1:53 am #

      What?! Lol..it was just a very normal and meat-less article.

      • Denny Sinnoh September 28, 2014 at 2:28 am #

        Sorry, I was in Las Vegas in 1962 when you posted, startling me, and time-tripping me back to the present.

        First off, I love that Wasamin-in-kimono shot. My heart leaped out of my chest.

        Oh, my Oshi … (swoons) … faints … THUD. That photo is going on my Pinterest Board when I get around to it.

        It may be getting time for Wasamin to graduate. It seems she is entertaining the idea. I think that she will do OK, especially if she continues her Enka-singing work, which I love.

        I would like to see her continue to develop as a singer. She indeed has a strong voice. Have you ever seen some of those early AKB karaoke videos? She destroys her competition. (I know, I don’t want to get into a seed-spitting contests with Mayu and Rino supporters. We like who we like.) AKB never used her to the fullest extent.

        Again, no SEEDS …

        What I would like to say, in an inarticulate way … is that if she graduates, then her unique talent may not be recognized.

        Iwasa Misaki is UNIQUE don’t you think? (again, I don’t want to start the seed-spitting. I like the others too). She WAS under-utilized, so there.

        She may fade if she cannot find the right songwriter/producers. I do think that she has cross-generational appeal. (Translation: old people like me may adore her). Market segmentation as it is, she risks falling through the cracks.

        PS: If anyone is interested I have a file of Misaki-san images on my Pinterest board:

      • allthingsjpop September 28, 2014 at 5:18 am #

        I have to admit, that kimono pic was randomly grabbed from google images.

        I have not seen the early Karaoke videos since i don’t watch much of AKBingo, but i believe the fandom generally recognizes her as one of the better singers.

        Yes i think she is rather unique, same with Matsui Sakiko? AKB is a breeding ground for future pop singers, actresses, variety talents, but both of them have rather extreme interests. On one hand they add color to the group and stand out easily, but on the other hand i wonder what AKB can do for them now that their solo careers seems fixed.

        It might be better for her to graduate and maybe her unique fanbase will help her withstand the test of time.

        Anyway, no need to worry about bashing from 48 fans here. Readers here are rather mild.

        (Can’t say the same about Johnny’s fangirls.)

  2. Sunee October 2, 2014 at 12:25 am #

    Just out of curiosity, how well is the original ace Maeda Atsuko doing outside of AKB? As an overseas fan, she seems to have dropped off the radar for a while now, all I can remember are the few guest appearances she makes at AKB concerts. Does she still maintain a mainstream presence in Japan?

    • allthingsjpop October 5, 2014 at 5:27 am #

      I think the media in Japan is more interested about her dating life, so she grabs headlines in this area comparably more than her acting projects.

      Mainstream presence – i wouldn’t say she had that even when she was in AKB, except during the period of her graduation. You know, she isn’t the type to say/do something that grabs attention(like Kojiharu/Sasshi). So i guess media attention on her is the same – whenever she has a project, they report on it.

      The difference between then and now? She used to act in dramas but now she’s just doing stage plays and movies. I personally think dramas are the hotter deal but maybe she didn’t get any offers. The stage plays and movies don’t really grab attention unless it sells, which i don’t think is her case.

Leave a Reply

