AKB48 Kawaei Rina graduates,leads stage play “Azumi”

5 Aug


AKB48 Kawaei Rina performed her last stage on 4th August at the Akihabara theater. She met the press afterwards and revealed her thoughts and plans for the future.

Q: Please talk about your 5 years with AKB48
Meeting the members was a huge thing, i wasn’t able to go to school often, they were my youth. What’s tough was not being able to dance and sing well. I worked hard thinking i should compensate for not being good at it.

Q: What is AKB48 to you?
Like a school, full of girls so it was fun. It was also a place where i grew. People may think it’s a scary place being full of girls, but everyone was kind.

Q: Your future?
I like acting, so it’d be good to do that. I’m not that experienced, so i hope to improve in acting. Remembering scripts is fun when i’m given the chance to do skits.

Q: What kind of actress?
I think it’d be hard to become a actress starting from an idol. 10 or 20 years later, i’d want people to be surprised that i was once an idol.

Q: What would you like to do after graduating?
I’d like to work. My stage play has been decided, so i want to work hard. I’m watching lots of DVDs. I haven’t been practising but i’d like to do that from now.

Q: You can start dating too.
Eh?(laughs) The priority is my work. I’d date if it doesn’t become a obstacle. (Do you have someone in mind?) If there’s someone isn’t it weird? (laughs)

Q:Please voice a complain about the group.
There’s so many people we have to queue long for the food. When i realise it the food could be gone, cos everyone eats so much. (laughs)

Q: About your role in AZUMI
I heard that from my agency. The killing scenes will be difficult, i’m worried but i’ll learn from everyone.

Q: About variety shows and your “dumb” persona
If there’s a chance i’d still do it. I’d like people to be surprised that i can do things even if i’m dumb.

Q:Will you study during your free time?
I tried but i can’t so i’m giving up. I didn’t expect it to become my character. I’m being teased by kids in the streets. But thanks to it i’m being recognised by many.

Q: There will be kanjis to read in the script..
I will seek help from people. The scriptwriter(?) says furigana will be inserted as well.

 

Source

Kawaei Rina to star in “Azumi” stage play


Rina Kawaei, a 20 years old member of Japanese girls idol group AKB48, will play the protagonist Azumi in the upcoming stage play adaptation of Yu Koyama’s historical action manga series of the same name. The original series featuring the young female assassin in the early Edo period was adapted into stage play twice, “Azumi on Stage” in 2005 and “Azumi Returns” in 2006, both were starring Meisa Kuroki (Space Battleship Yamato, Lupin The Third) and directed by Shunichi Okamura. Okamura returns as director again with new cast members.

The third stage play is based on the manga’s sequel series set in the Bakumatsu period, the final years of the Edo period when the Tokugawa shogunate ended (1853-1869). It is scheduled to be performed at New National Theatre Tokyo’s Playhouse from September 11 to 24. Advance tickets will go on sale on August 8.

Some cool posters below:

Credit:Crunchyroll

Leave a Reply

