Tag Archives: ハート・エレキ

First performance of AKB48 33rd Single “Heart Electric!”

19 Sep

The next new song of AKB48 “Heart Electric” was revealed at their 4th Janken Tournament yesterday. The audience awaited with bated breath as the senbatsu lineup was announced and members walked out on stage one after another. The audience grew increasingly excited as the former centers – Watanabe Mayu, Oshima Yuko and Shimazaki Haruka etc. were all called up first, meaning the center whose supposed to come out last was someone “new”. Kojima Haruna came out last, marking the first (and what may be the last) time she’s gracing center position since joining AKB48 in 2005.

Kojiharu commented on her new status “I don’t know why it has come to this, but i’ll work hard!”

This song is the 2nd song they’ve gotten from RoopSounds(the first being their 2nd single “Skirt Hirari”). It’s not a dance song like last year’s UZA, but nevertheless portrays a tough feel judging from their expressions and military uniforms. Kojiharu gets what seems like the most amount of solo lines in the history of AKB48 centers. I totally applaud this move cos Kojiharu’s voice deserves more limelight!

The only weird part of this song is the member introductions in the middle. According to sources,the concept for this song is that the girls are part of a band, and according to band protocols, the vocalist is supposed to introduce the members sometime during their performance.

So Kojiharu shouts out her band members’ stage names in the middle of the song (alas the stage names are all in english!)…..it may be a move to speak to the international audience but i guess only Japanese are going to understand what’s happening.

Full list of senbatsu members and stage names:

Kojima Haruna – Michelle
Iriyama Anna – Veronica
Takahashi Minami – Linda
Oshima Yuko – Lucy
Kashiwagi Yuki – Catherine
Sashihara Rino – Rola (She’s naming herself after popular model Rola)
Watanabe Mayu – Elizabeth
Matsui Jurina – Caroline
Shimazaki Haruka – Angelina
Matsui Rena – Sandy
Yokoyama Yui -Mary
Yamamoto Sayaka – Rosanna
Watanabe Miyuki – Josephine
Minegishi Minami – Barbara
Oota Aika – Margaret
Kawaei Rina – Kawaei


Preorder 33rd single here!