Tag Archives: 6th General Elections

Fuji TV airs epic promotional trailer for AKB48 6th General Elections

24 May

It has been announced that Fuji TV will be airing AKB48 6th General Elections live on June 7, starting from 5pm. They will air footage of the vote counting, but actual ranking will only be revealed from 6.30pm onwards.
To promote the event, a series of trailers have been released depicting a battle for the top spot between “warlords” from different provinces in Japan – Watanabe Mayu of Tokyo, Yamamoto Sayaka of Osaka, Matsui Jurina of Nagoya and Sashihara Rino of Fukuoka. If you once thought the idea in having sister groups is just to duplicate the success formula of AKB48, then this trailer certainly gives whole new meaning and excitement to this mega franchise. Watch the trailers below for yourself below!

Short Version

Long Version(with Matsui Rena)

In addition, FujiTV also announced that they will be broadcasting Oshima Yuko’s graduation performance 2 days later on 9 June.


Preliminary results of AKB48’s 6th General Election

23 May

On May 21, the preliminary results of “The 6th AKB48 Senbatsu General Election” were revealed at AKB48 Theater in Akihabara, Tokyo.

For the election, a total of 296 girls from AKB48 and its sister groups stand as candidates, and the top 80 girls will be able to participate in AKB48’s 37th single.

On the day, the preliminary results showed HKT48 member Sashihara Rino placed first, followed by Watanabe Mayu, and Matsui Jurina.

In the past 5 years, Maeda Atsuko came first for the 1st and 3rd elections,Oshima Yuko placed first for the 2nd and 4th elections, and last year, Sashihara ranked number 1. 

It will attract the fans’ attention if Sashihara would be able to win the election for the second consecutive time.

The voting for the election will end on June 6 at 3:00 pm, and the final results will be revealed at Ajinomoto Stadium in Tokyo on June 7.

Below is the top 16 members from the preliminary results.

1. Sashihara Rino – 37, 582 votes
2. Watanabe Mayu – 25,283 votes
3. Matsui Jurina – 23,012 votes
4. Kashiwagi Yuki – 17,266 votes
5. Shimazaki Haruka – 15,514 votes
6. Matsui Rena – 14,897 votes
7. Yamamoto Sayaka – 14,798 votes
8. Shibata Aya – 12,340 votes
9. Matsumura Kaori – 12,190 votes
10. Kodama Haruka – 9,879 votes
11. Moriyasu Madoka – 9,562 votes
12. Yokoyama Yui – 9,505 votes
13. Takahashi Minami – 9,005 votes
14. Futamura Haruka – 8,755 votes
15. Kitahara Rie – 8,584 votes
16. Miyazawa Sae – 8,273 votes


Even though i was hoping for Mayuyu to win this time, seems like overtaking Sasshi is as difficult as ever. It is certainly depressing to see her struggling so hard, but hopefully Mayuyu fans will unite in the remaining days and help Mayuyu achieve her dreams! 

Details announced for AKB48 6th Sousenkyo General Elections

25 Mar

It was announced that AKB48 will be holding their annual popularity contest aka General Elections.

As usual, the top 16 members from AKB48/NMB48/SKE48/HKT48 will form the lineup for the title track of the group’s 37th single (to be released in August), and appear on TV, magazines etc for promotions. Those interested in participating will have to nominate themselves in order become an official candidate.

However, there are a few changes to the election rules this year.

1. Instead of 64 senbatsu spots ,80 spots will be open this year. Those ranked 17th and below will sing the coupling songs for the 37th single.

• 1st ~ 16th : 37th single Senbatsu members
• 17th ~ 32nd : Under Girls
• 33rd ~ 48th : Next Girls
• 49th ~ 64th : Future Girls
• 65th ~ 80th : Upcoming Girls

2. Graduated members will no longer be allowed to participate.

•  Tomochin, Mariko sama, Acchan, Yuko etc.

3. Special members who are qualified to participate:
•  Nakagawa Haruka (JKT48)
•  Chikano Rika (JKT48)
•  Ikoma Rina (NGK46/AKB48)
The reception desk period for the candidacy will be from March 31 at 4:30 pm ~ April 6 at 11:00 pm.  Until then, we can expect to see the girls declaring their intentions to run/withdraw/even graduate via google+ announcements.

Fans can vote for the members after that by purchasing AKB48’s 36th single (currently untitled) which will go on sale on May 21. The voting for the election will begin on May 20 at 10:00 am, until on June 6 at 3:00 pm (JST).

The results of the voting will be unveiled at Ajinomoto Stadium on June 7.


It has only been a few days, but some members have already declared their ambitions to run for elections, including Yamamoto Sayaka and Sashihara Rino (who seems to be contradicting her words from last year). SKE48 member Tomoko Kato is pulling out to concentrate on solo activities whilst Takayanagi Akane is sitting on the fence, probably waiting for a big push from her fans.

If you’re wondering who Yuna is rooting for, of cos it’s Mayuyu! I am actually visiting Tokyo in some months, hopefully i can see drop by their theater and catch their live show!

Who are you rooting for and will you be voting?