AKB48 Watanabe Mayu quotes from documentary show Jounetsu Tairiku

16 Jun


This program follows AKB48 Watanabe Mayu for 40 days as she goes through the busiest period of her life, filming for a drama, preparing for her 5th solo single whilst attending regular AKB48 events. Below are excerpts of the documentary which gives us an insight into her thoughts and personality.


On not crying in Sousenkyo: I’m not so weak. On the contrary if i’d gotten No.1 i’d have cried.


Taking a walk: I always thought that there’s nothing to film, if you were to document AKB48’s Mayuyu. In order not to let that happen, i’m always trying to show my true skills.


Recollection of her theater debut: It was so fun but it was over in a second.I couldn’t believe such a fun job exists. The theater is where i’m closest to the fans and their reactions come immediately.


The meaning of being an idol:I want to be an idol in my own way-Orthodox style.It’s not just about showing beautiful things like hopes and dreams. That is not what an idol is all about.As long as there are people who become energized by looking at idols, i want to continue this job. Idols can shine because they are needed.


Her favourite food: I love meat. I don’t eat vegetables although i’m told to. *Grabs another piece of meat after the handshake event.*


Rushing for work after vocal training: It’s as if i don’t need sleeping time. I wish i had a body that is ok without sleep.


Receiving a compliment from Yukirin before a solo stage:Thank you! I’m energized now!


Getting an IV drip: This is the busiest period of my life and i have to work the hardest. I have to manage my health properly. I can’t just abandon my work. There is no replacement for me.


Mayuyu in her audition days: She was someone who couldn’t look at the judges in the eye. She aimed to be perfect and fans came to call her the “idol cyborg”.


30mins shopping time in Omotesando: I love shopping but i feel sorry to ask someone to accompany me so usually i’m alone.


On animals and their healing power: Recently i’m looking for healing stuff, you must be thinking that i’m really tired.


Trying out different colors: Khaki doesn’t fit me! I’ll buy this.


On the chains of an idol: I can’t be in AKB forever. Someday i’ll graduate and enter the world alone. I want to shed the image of an idol but it’s difficult to do so quickly.


On her stoic style: Being serious and working hard is not right in the world of AKB48. It is also a place that destroys the serious girls. But i always believed that my hard work would be rewarded.


On being an idol in the next life: I won’t want to. I’m satisfied as it is. I want to live another life, like a cat. Free and relaxed.

 

 

3 Responses to “AKB48 Watanabe Mayu quotes from documentary show Jounetsu Tairiku”

  1. anonymous June 16, 2015 at 8:21 am #

    I like the way Mayu brushes off things some (popular) 48G girls said in this kind of documentaries. ” I am not being able to sleep properly since my debut” ” When i get home I am so tired ” so on and so on. I mean yes of course being an idol is tough, but I’d prefer be tired cos I have too much things to do rather than preoccupied everyday cos I don’t have any schedule.

    Mayu really enjoys being an idol and does not complain when she has too much work, rather she is grateful of every opportunity her agency gives to her.

    • Denny Sinnoh June 16, 2015 at 8:09 pm #

      She enjoys her work, and when she is happy she makes me happy!
      : )

  2. Denny Sinnoh June 16, 2015 at 8:07 pm #

    Pity the poor guy who had the job of filming Mayuyu for 40 hours.

Leave a comment